Arkansas Press Women

Est. 1949 – An association of professional communicators

APW Recognizes High School Excellence

Chalkboard Graduation Card

Arkansas Press Women handed out 84 awards to Arkansas High School students during the recent Arkansas Scholastic Press Association Convention in Fort Smith.

In all, 84 awards were presented, recognizing some of the best writing, graphic design and video stories of 2017.

“There were some phenomenal entries this year. We often talk about the questionable future of journalism, but then we see fantastic work from our high schoolers and we know the future of journalism is in good hands,” said Kristin Netterstrom Higgins, president of Arkansas Press Women. “We appreciate ASPA sharing their conference time with us to recognize the work of these young journalists.”

Bryant High School students received 26 awards, followed by Lakeside High School of Hot Springs (18), Haas Hall Academy of Fayetteville (17), Har-Ber High School of Springdale (6), and Southside High School of Fort Smith (4).  A complete list of winners can be downloaded here.

Students who placed first in the contest will have their entries go on to compete in the National Federation of Press Women’s national contest. Winners from that contest will be honored at NFPW’s fall conference in Pennsylvania.

NFPW – a nationwide organization of women and men with diverse roles in the field of communications – provides the contest in the belief that it is vital to encourage the next generation to pursue excellence and perhaps careers in the rapidly changing field of journalism and the broader field of communications.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on May 1, 2018 by in communications contest.


%d bloggers like this: