Arkansas Press Women

An association of professional communicators

2010 Summer Awards meeting

One of the great things about APW’s annual meeting is that even though it might’ve been a year since you last saw your fellow members, once we’re together again, it’s like we never left.

APW Best Brains cover art

2010 Meeting Program Cover

We had a good turnout at the headquarters of the University of Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service.

Thanks to all the APW members who attended to support our four presenting scholars, Rebecca Norman, Rachel Grant, Doc Harper and Kathryn Heller. Their presentations offered us a new perspective on our work. Thank you to Dr. Dale Zacher of UALR’s Mass Comm school, for organizing the colloquium.  We will post the abstracts of their work on a separate page on this blog. If you missed the meeting and would like to know more about the research, e-mail

Thanks to Scott Miller, our keynote speaker, for sharing the story of his three-year endeavor, The Argenta News, a pioneering effort in hyperlocal journalism. Or as Miller would emphasize — community building.

Beth Pond, of Hendrix College, is this year’s APW scholarship winner. She has a 4.0 average, majors in English and French, and is editor of  The Profile, the Hendrix student newspaper.  She will spend a semester studying at Oxford in her junior year.

Last year’s scholarship winner could not attend — but Kimber Wenzelburger had a good excuse. She was getting married the same day as our meeting. She sent a statement that was read at the meeting with thanks for the scholarship.

Congratulations to Debbie Miller, who is our Arkansas Communicator of Achievement. Her nomination now goes to the the national organization as a committee determines this year’s National Communicator of Achievement.

Sonny Sanders and Claudia Ahrens were honored for their membership anniversaries: Sonny has been an APW member for 30 years; Claudia for 35. Now that’s loyalty.

And last, but not least, a big hand to all the winners in our annual Communications Contest, and this year’s sweepstakes winner Jeannie Stone!

Wide shot of colloquium

Rebecca Norman presents her research paper. From left, Kathryn Heller, Doc Harper and Rachel Grant await their turns at the rostrum.

Members listen to keynote speaker Scott Miller

From left, Emily Roberts, Kim Souza, Tammy Keith, David Keith, Dale Zacher, listen as Scott Miller tells his story.


4 comments on “2010 Summer Awards meeting

  1. Kristin
    June 5, 2010

    great time today!

  2. arkpresswomen
    June 5, 2010

    It’s always wonderful to be with our good friends and colleagues in Arkansas Press Women.

  3. Pingback: The 2010 meeting, photos, summary « Arkansas Press Women

  4. Pingback: 2010 Summer Meeting photos, summary « Arkansas Press Women

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: